Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The Busy Body Cover Image Downloadable ebooks Downloadable ebooks

The Busy Body Kemper Donovan.

Donovan, Kemper, (author.). hoopla digital. (Added Author).

Record details

  • Physical Description: 1 online resource
  • Publisher: [United States] : Kensington Books, 2024.
  • Distributor: Made available through hoopla

Content descriptions

Restrictions on Access Note:
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Summary, etc.:
Veep meets Agatha Christie in this intelligent, wildly funny, literary mystery for fans of Richard Osman, Anthony Horowitz, and Nita Prose! "A delight from start to finish. If you like Agatha Christie, you'll love this." - Alex Michaelides, # 1 New York Times bestselling author of The Silent Patient The host of the "All About Agatha" podcast injects the spark and fizz of a Golden Age murder mystery into the present-day, as a ghostwriter is chosen to collaborate on a presidential candidate's memoir, only to discover just how much trouble a smart woman with time on her hands can get up to . . . "I tell other people's stories for a living. . . . I nip and tuck their excesses, soften their hard edges, polish whatever an armada of editors and publicists deem unsightly till it sparkles." It's a dream assignment. Former Senator Dorothy Gibson, aka that woman, is the most talked-about person in the country right now, though largely for the wrong reasons. As an independent candidate for President of the United States, Dorothy split the vote and is being blamed for the shocking result. After her very public defeat, she's retreated to her home in rural Maine, inviting her ghostwriter to join her. Her collaborator is impressed by Dorothy's work ethic and steel-trap mind, not to mention the stunning surroundings (and one particularly gorgeous bodyguard). But when a neighbor dies under suspicious circumstances, Dorothy is determined to find the killer in their midst. And when Dorothy Gibson asks if you want to team up for a top secret, possibly dangerous murder investigation, the only answer is: "Of course!" The best ghostwriters are adept at asking questions and spinning stories . . . two talents, it turns out, that also come in handy for sleuths. Dorothy's political career, meanwhile, has made her an expert at recognizing lies and double-dealing. Working together, the two women are soon untangling motives and whittling down suspects, to the exasperation of local police. But this investigation-much like the election-may not unfold the way anyone expects . . .
System Details Note:
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Subject: Ghostwriters > Fiction.
Bodyguards > Fiction.
Presidential candidates > Fiction.
Murder > Investigation > Fiction.
Electronic books.
Maine > Fiction.


Additional Resources