Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1

The altruists : a novel / Andrew Ridker.

Ridker, Andrew (author.).

Available copies

  • 11 of 20 copies available at Bibliomation. (Show)
  • 0 of 1 copy available at Rowayton Library.
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Rowayton Library F RID (Text to phone) 33625122822914 Adult New Fiction Checked out 05/29/2019

Record details

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: A vibrant and perceptive novel about a father's plot to win back his children's inheritance. Arthur Alter is in trouble. A middling professor at a Midwestern college, he can't afford his mortgage, he's exasperated his much-younger girlfriend, and his kids won't speak to him. And then there's the money--the small fortune his late wife Francine kept secret, which she bequeathed directly to his children. Those children are Ethan, an anxious recluse living off his mother's money on a choice plot of Brooklyn real estate; and Maggie, a would-be do-gooder trying to fashion herself a noble life of self-imposed poverty. On the verge of losing the family home, Arthur invites his children back to St. Louis under the guise of a reconciliation. But in doing so, he unwittingly unleashes a Pandora's box of age-old resentments and long-buried memories--memories that orbit Francine, the matriarch whose life may hold the key to keeping them together. Spanning New York, Paris, Boston, St. Louis, and a small desert outpost in Zimbabwe, The Altruists is a darkly funny (and ultimately tender) family saga in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen and Jeffrey Eugenides, with shades of Philip Roth and Zadie Smith. It's a novel about money, privilege, politics, campus culture, dating, talk therapy, rural sanitation, infidelity, kink, the American beer industry, and what it means to be a "good person."
Subject: Inheritance and succession Fiction
College teachers Fiction
Genre: Domestic fiction.
Domestic fiction.
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1

Additional Resources