Catalog

Many Bibliomation libraries are adjusting their services at this time. Please contact your local library staff or consult their website for more information about the services they are providing.

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 4

Available copies

  • 33 of 35 copies available at Bibliomation. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Rowayton Library.
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Rowayton Library F PAR (Text to phone) 33625122807360 Adult Fiction Available -

Record details

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: "Judge Scott Sampson doesn't brag about having a perfect life, but the evidence is clear: A prestigious job. A beloved family. On an ordinary Wednesday afternoon, he is about to pick up his six-year-old twins to go swimming when his wife, Alison, texts him that she'll get the kids from school instead. It's not until she gets home later that Scott realizes she doesn't have the children. And she never sent the text. Then the phone rings, and every parent's most chilling nightmare begins. A man has stolen Sam and Emma. A man who warns the judge to do exactly as he is told in a drug case he is about to rule on. If the judge fails to follow his instructions, the consequences for the children will be dire. For Scott and Alison, the kidnapper's call is only the beginning of a twisting, gut-churning ordeal of blackmail, deceit, and terror; a high-profile trial like none the judge or his wife has ever experienced. Their marriage falters. Suspicions and long-buried jealousies rise to the surface. Fractures appear. Lies are told. Through it all, Scott and Alison will stop at nothing to get their children back, no matter the cost to themselves ... or to each other."--Amazon.com.
Subject: Kidnapping Fiction
Judges Fiction
Spouses Fiction
Trials Fiction
Kidnapping Fiction
Genre: Suspense fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)

Syndetic Solutions - Library Journal Review for ISBN Number 1101985593
Say Nothing
Say Nothing
by Parks, Brad
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

Library Journal Review

Say Nothing

Library Journal


(c) Copyright Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Parks ventures into suburban thriller -territory with his latest book. Judge Scott Sampson, his wife, Alison, and their twins Sam and Emma have a wonderful life until the day Scott receives a text message from his wife that she is picking up the kids. He arrives home to find Alison surprised since she thought he was going to get them from school. Soon the truth is revealed when the phone rings and the couple learn that their children have been kidnapped. Scott must follow the abductor's orders involving a drug case he's presiding over as judge if he and Alison want to see Sam and Emma again. Parks does a fantastic job conveying every parent's worst fear while also showcasing the marital conflict and mistrust that erupts in the midst of a crisis. The complications and twists build to an unexpected climax that is both perfect and gut-wrenching. VERDICT Parks's (The Fraud) previous novels have been good, but this is his best to date. Fans of Harlan Coben and Lisa -Gardner will love this thriller. Don't stay silent, tell everyone.-Jeff Ayers, Seattle P.L. © Copyright 2016. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Syndetic Solutions - Publishers Weekly Review for ISBN Number 1101985593
Say Nothing
Say Nothing
by Parks, Brad
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

Publishers Weekly Review

Say Nothing

Publishers Weekly


(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

Shamus Award-winner Parks's excellent domestic thriller credibly portrays a family under severe stress. Federal judge Scott Sampson's tranquil and fulfilling personal life in rural tidewater Virginia with his wife, Alison, and twin six-year-olds, Sam and Emma, is shattered when someone impersonating Alison abducts Sam and Emma from their school. The kidnappers insist that Scott say nothing to anyone and that he await instructions about the impending sentencing of a minor drug dealer whose history merits severe punishment. The orders that Scott eventually receives threaten his professional position and prove to be but the prelude to extortion regarding another case with even greater consequences. The tension the catastrophe causes in Scott and Alison's marriage is palpable, and Parks (The Fraud and five other Carter Ross mysteries) makes even Scott's most paranoid suspicions reasonable in the circumstances. Veteran genre readers may anticipate some of the surprises, but they'll still find themselves on pins and needles awaiting the reveals. Five-city author tour. Agent: Alice Martell, Martell Agency. (Mar.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Syndetic Solutions - BookList Review for ISBN Number 1101985593
Say Nothing
Say Nothing
by Parks, Brad
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

BookList Review

Say Nothing

Booklist


From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.

Parks' legal thriller gets off to a roaring start, plunking us immediately in the middle of things. Before we know who the hero is, we're bystanders in a plot to kidnap his two young children. The hero's identity becomes clear as we learn what the kidnappers are up to. Scott Sampson is a federal judge, and his children will be hurt unless he jiggers the verdict in a case he's hearing involving a lowlife drug pusher. Sampson makes an unusual lead in a genre that is often about lawyers slugging it out while a judge unleashes thunderbolts from Olympus. Here the setting is Olympus, and the thriller plot becomes an exercise in the manipulation of power. Sampson's decisions can make millionaires richer or send them to the poorhouse, and nobody is free of suspicion. Not even his wife. Readers may find credulity stretched a bit, as when the judge sneaks gun parts into the courthouse under his robe, and legal matters are resolved with gunfire. But we're here for the action, too, and Parks comes through.--Crinklaw, Don Copyright 2016 Booklist

Search Results Showing Item 1 of 4

Additional Resources